top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJack Davis

9-5-19

Hey blog, mwen dezole. I have been neglecting you, however it’s cuz I’ve been supa dupa busy. I have no intention to fret over grammatical correctness right now, so I’m just gonna type like I speak. Please try to understand. Today was long and tiring like the days past but, today had a lil nugget of gooooolllllllllllllllllllld at the end. (in a Haitian officiated soccer game on tv they really stretch out how long they say goal when somebody scores, so I did that ^ for dramatic effect. You might need to read aloud to understand.) Anyways back to the original programmin. The nugget I speak of may seem small but here it is: After partaking in our mission base’s Soccer bible study, a bunch of the attendees were runnin around campus shooting hoops and such, when a kid about my age, got two ping pong paddles and a ping pong ball and without saying anything, because we don’t speak the same language, I grabbed two ping pong paddles and we just started hitting the ball in the air between us. It got intense and then at one point we had three players to this made-up-on-the-spot, yet extremely entertaining game. Back and forth, back and forth, the ball suspended in the air for minutes at a time, the only dialogue being the occasional sorry/eskize for a bad hit. We were pros honestly. After playing for an hour and then some, we exchanged whatsapps with the help of some people that were a little more bilingual than us, and we got each other‘s names. I hope I see you on Saturday Wakender, I consider you my homeslice! All this to say that there is no such thing as a language barrier, only language hurdles and obstacles, and if we are open minded and determined, we can overcome them.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lite avek Bib la (Wrestle with the Bible)

Last year, around this time. I was fighting to believe in The God of the Bible, in the God of it all, and when I say fighting, man do I mean it. I remember in my Discipleship Training School (DTS) the

Blan Ki Pataje (white man who shares)

Do you keep to yourself or share what you have? Are the fruit snacks in your pocket or in your open palm? Do your headphones sit in the drawer of your desk or do they sit on top in plain view? Does th

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page